The Dorothy Dallas Centre

getimage-1-exeDorothy Dallas was a long-time member of the Department of French at the University of British Columbia, where she taught seventeenth-century French literature from 1933 to 1967. When she passed away, in 1992, she left a bequest to the Department, specifying that the income from the endowed fund created in her name be used to promote research in seventeenth and eighteenth-century French studies. The recently created Dorothy Dallas Centre for Seventeenth and Eighteenth-century French Studies is a means of honouring her contribution to UBC and bringing together all of the activities that are made possible by the Dorothy Dallas Fund: invited speakers, conferences, a PhD fellowship, research assistantships, and original pamphlets from the French Revolution.


Conferences :

Sade: réflexions à chaud sur un bicentenaire encore tiède (2015)
Littérature et libertinage au XVIIe siècle (2006)
La femme au XVIIe siècle (2000)
Writing the Body in Early Modern France (1999)
Sexualité, mariage et famille au XVIIIe siècle (1997)

Visiting Speakers :

2013 Ugo Dionne (Université de Montréal)
2012 Geoffrey Turnovsky (University of Washington)
2011 Julia Douthwaite (University of Notre Dame)
2010 Dan Edelstein (Stanford University)
2010 Isabelle Moreau (King’s College, London)
2010 Michel Delon (Université Paris IV-Sorbonne)
2009 Benoît Melançon (Université de Montréal)
2007  Pierre Saint-Amand (Brown University)
2006  Michèle Rosellini (ENS, Lyon)
2004  Delphine Denis (Université Paris IV-Sorbonne)
2002  Franck Lestringant (Université Paris IV-Sorbonne)
2002  Patrick Dandrey (Université Paris IV-Sorbonne)
2001  Jean-Charles Darmon (Versailles Saint-Quentin)
2001  Georges Forestier (Université Paris IV-Sorbonne)
2000  Christie McDonald (Harvard University)
2000  Domna Stanton (University of Michigan)
1999  Jean Serroy (Université Stendhal, Grenoble)
1999  Cynthia Skenazi (University of Cal. at Santa Barbara)
1999  Gisèle Mathieu-Castellani (Université Paris VII)
1998  Mireille Rosello (Univeristy of Nottingham)
1998  Lawrence Kritzman (Dartmouth University)
1997  Louis Van Delft (Université Paris X)
1997  Christian Biet (Université Paris X)
1997  George Van Den Abbeele (University of Cal. at Davis)
1995  Béatrice Didier (ENS, Paris)
1995  Jean-Marie Apostolidès (Stanford University)

Visiting Professors :

2009 Françoise Gaillard (U. Paris VII)
1997 Christian Biet (U. Paris X)